Aviation Love

There is no doubt that my daughter loves transportation vehicles, especially ones of the aviation variety. Since she’s under the age of 3, most airplane and helicopter toys have a choking hazard disclaimer on the package, so I just avoid them.

I’ve been on the lookout for an airplane or helicopter softie, but really haven’t had much luck, so I decided to make one for her.

This was my Saturday night project, while watching Better Off Dead. We love that movie, and had not seen it in such a long time. There were two lines in particular that really cracked us up, and I jotted them down for a future embroidery project.

When I was finished with the embroidery, I thought it looked a little blank, so I decided to fill in the blank spaces with crayon. Yeah, if I ever do that again, I will be sure to color the spaces before stitching.

Saturday afternoon we went to one of the Asian markets and I found the cutest little transportation biscuits. They were under $2.00, so I decided if Darcy hated them, then it wasn’t a big deal.

She really likes the little crackers, and is fascinated with the different pictures. They taste like a slightly sweetened rice cracker and have really cute names like, “Topless Car” for a convertible and “Shovel Truck” for an excavator.

Darcy loves her little helicopter and calls it, “Chopper.” I actually caught her tickling it the other day. What a goober.

I have plans to draw an airplane and a rocket to go along with the helicopter, and I was thinking about offering these aviation designs as embroidery patterns in a pdf format. Would anyone be interested in that?

xoxo,
Amy

About bindelbird

Wife, mother of girls, and lover of handmade.

19 responses to “Aviation Love

  1. I would LOVE to make a few of these for my daughter. Super cute!

  2. Amy- these two together are just amazing- how beautiful that your creativity comes together with things you encounter out and about!

  3. Two weeks, 10 papers, that’s $2. Gee, Johnny, I don’t have a dime. I didn’t ask for a dime – TWO DOLLARS! I want my twooooooooo dooolllllaaarsssss! Can you imagine the street value of this mountain!? Heh heh heh! BOD is one of my all time favorite movies. 🙂 (and, of course, LOVE the helicopter!)

  4. really cute helicopter!!!

  5. Please do offer them as embroidery patterns! I have a small young lady that would absolutely drool over a little stuffed helicopter. What a sweet design.

  6. embroidery patterns as PDF — yes, please!! the helicopter softie is adorable.coloring before stitching is definitely way easier — i’ve done it both ways (the first time, coloring was an afterthought and quite a booger to do after stitching) — i *love* craying tinting combined with embroidery.

  7. For sure – I find it frustrating that I can’t find a safe toy car for my 10mo old girl to play with…

  8. Love the heli! and can’t wait to see which BOD quotes you are going to embroider. Eek! Maybe “Zee international language”? 🙂 Man, they just don’t make movies like that anymore.Oh, and the pic with the toy and the biscuits??? SO GREAT!

  9. I think your helicoptor softie is just adorable! So sweet and cute. Those biscuits look adorable too. Great!

  10. “That’s Chooper?!?”If you can guess which 80’s movie that’s from I’ll give you two dollars. ;)Very very cute! I was wondering how in the world you got the colors to be different on the fabric, then I actually read the blog. You are a wish lady.

  11. “That’s Chopper?!?” That would be Stand by Me. One of my all time favorite 80’s flicks. <3Let’s have an 80’s movie craft night.

  12. Could her little chopper be ANY cuter? I think not! SO SO SO sweet 🙂

  13. So incredibly cute!! Do you have to set the crayon with an iron or something?

  14. Better Off Dead??! One of my all-time-faves, too! Haven’t seen it in forever…must change that. And the helicopter is super sweet.

  15. I would love to make that for my son! Do you have any tips on how to apply the crayon?

  16. Well, I am in LOVE with your helicopter creation. It’s so neat that your daughter loves transportation. My son is certainly obsessed with it. Will you ever sell these helicopters?

  17. That little chopper is a dream and my little girl would love him! Hope you decide to offer up the pattern in pdf. I’d be all over it!

  18. Hi, I couldn’t find another way to contact you, but I was wondering if I can link to this little guy and post a picture of him on a new blog I’m getting started. Thanks! http://www.onecraftyplace.com

Leave a Reply

